Thursday, 31 January 2008

Honorary Treasurers of the BSA

The founding Honorary Treasurer for the BSA was Walter Leaf (1852-1927), a banker in the City of London. He resigned in 1906 to become a Trustee in place of Sir Richard Jebb who died in December 1905.

Leaf's place was taken by Vincent W. Yorke (1869-1957), a former student of the BSA (1892/93, 1893/94), a director of National Provident Institution, and subsequently chairman of the Mexican Railway Ltd. Yorke served as treasurer until 1955.

Both Leaf and Yorke were directors of the London & Westminster Bank (elected 1891 and 1903, respectively).

1 comment:

David Gill said...

For Yorke's son:
Rod Mengham, ‘Yorke, Henry Vincent (1905–1973)’, Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, Oxford University Press, 2004 [, accessed 8 March 2008]